Waiting-on Wednesday #9: Dualed

Dualed by Elsie ChapmanDualed by Elsie Chapman

Release Date: February 26, 2013

You or your Alt? Only one will survive.

The city of Kersh is a safe haven, but the price of safety is high. Everyone has a genetic Alternate—a twin raised by another family—and citizens must prove their worth by eliminating their Alts before their twentieth birthday. Survival means advanced schooling, a good job, marriage—life.

Fifteen-year-old West Grayer has trained as a fighter, preparing for the day when her assignment arrives and she will have one month to hunt down and kill her Alt. But then a tragic misstep shakes West’s confidence. Stricken with grief and guilt, she’s no longer certain that she’s the best version of herself, the version worthy of a future. If she is to have any chance of winning, she must stop running not only from her Alt, but also from love . . . though both have the power to destroy her.

Elsie Chapman’s suspenseful YA debut weaves unexpected romance into a novel full of fast-paced action and thought-provoking philosophy. When the story ends, discussions will begin about this future society where every adult is a murderer and every child knows there is another out there who just might be better.

add-to-goodreads

What I’m Excited About!

I’m a bit tired of the dystopian, fight-for-your-life books that are super popular right now, but I’m excited about this one for two reasons. First, the cover makes it look like it will be sci-fi, and I would like to read more hard sci-fi dystopian. Second, I’m extremely interested in the concept of identical twins and nature-versus-nurture, and I would love to see it explored in this book.

Waiting on Wednesday is hosted weekly by Breaking the Spine.

Tags: , , ,

About Kimberly Dyer

Kimberly is a Reference Librarian at her local library in Texas. She loves reading Young Adult and Teen Literature.

8 responses to “Waiting-on Wednesday #9: Dualed”

  1. Books Live Forever (@jeneaw0716) says :

    I can’t wait for this one, and it will be out soon. :) Nice pick.

    Jenea @ Books Live Forever’s WoW

    Like this

  2. Patricia says :

    I’ve seen so many blogging about this book in their Waiting on Wednesday post that I think it’s about time I put it on my to-read list. It does sound very interesting. Thanks for sharing! :)

    Here’s my WoW
    Patricia @ Night Readings.

    Like this

  3. laurelrainsnow says :

    I like the concept of nature vs. nurture, too, and twins are a good source of info. Thanks for sharing..and enjoy!

    Here’sMY WOW POST

    Like this

  4. Jessica (peacelovebooks) says :

    Oooh twins? I’m a twin! This one would be so fun to read! Great pick :)

    Here’s my WoW!

    Like this

  5. Danielle Chapman says :

    I have not come across this book before. Thanks so much for bringing it to my attention. Happy Reading! Here is my WoW for this week!

    Like this

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 106 other followers

